Free Cyber Risk Analysis: Your Top Cyber Risks in 3 Clicks

Get Started

What is NIST CSF?

The National Institute of Standards and Technology’s Cybersecurity Framework, or the NIST CSF,  is a set of best practices recommended by the United States Commerce Department. It is a guideline for private companies to follow to prevent and mitigate cyber-attacks.

The CSF is a voluntary guide to help organizations of all sizes manage their cybersecurity risks. It's like a roadmap that outlines six key functions: Identify, Protect, Detect, Respond, Recover, and Govern.

Identify: Figure out your valuable assets and the cyber threats they face.

Protect: Implement safeguards like firewalls and access controls to shield your systems.

Detect: Continuously monitor for security issues and suspicious activity.

Respond: Have a plan to contain and address security incidents if they occur.

Recover: Establish procedures to restore your systems and data after a security breach.

Govern: Establish communication with business-side and executive leaders with regular reporting and collaboration.

The beauty of the NIST CSF is its flexibility. You can tailor it to your specific needs, regardless of your industry or technical expertise. By following this framework, organizations can improve their cybersecurity posture and be better prepared to prevent, detect, and respond to cyber threats.


See Also: 

Return to NIST Glossary


Download the NIST CSF Guide